How to prevent standard users (or guests) from deleting videos

How to prevent recording but not deleting files

To prevent standard users from deleting videos, such as while recording company computers, you should enable [Recording] and disable [Deleting]. This page provides instructions on how to enable [Recording] but disable [Deleting] on Windows.



1. After logging in with an admin, create user accounts

With administrator privileges, log in to the computer where the video files will be saved, and click the Start button in Windows and type 'account'. Then, click [Manage your account - Family & other users - Add someone else to this PC], and enter the user's name such as 'UserA'.

How to prevent users from deleting videos, Add someone else to this PC


2. Right-click on the folder where the videos will be saved

After logging in to the computer with administrator privileges, right-click on the folder where the videos will be saved, and then click [Properties - Security - Advanced] to open the "Advanced Security Settings" window.

How to prevent users from deleting videos, Folder-Properties-Security-Advanced


3. Add a standard user account in the "Advanced Security Settings" window

Click [Add - Select a principal] and enter the name of the standard user account. Next, select [Check Names], and then click the [OK] button.

How to prevent users from deleting videos, Add a Standard User Account

4. Select [Deny] and check the [Delete] options in the "Permission Entry" window

After selecting [Deny] in the "Permission Entry" window, click the [Show advanced permissions] option. Check only the “Delete subfolders and files” and “Delete” options and uncheck all other options, and then click the [OK] button.

How to prevent users from deleting videos, remove and deny deletion rights


5. After logging in with the standard user, change the outfolder of Bandicam

After logging in with the standard user account selected in step 2, click the [...] button in the [General] tab of Bandicam, and then select the folder selected in step 1 as the output folder of Bandicam.

How to prevent users from deleting videos, file deletion impossible result screen

If you set up Bandicam as above, you can record videos with a standard account, but videos will not be deleted by non-admin accounts.

- Related FAQ) Computer Black Box: How to record your computer screen 24 hours a day/365 days



Related Tips

1. How to record your PC for 24 hours & 365 days

Computer recording 24 hours a day, 365 days a year

If you use the "Around mouse" recording mode and Windows Task Scheduler, you can automatically record your computer screen when Windows starts, without the recorder status bar. This function allows you to do PC Monitoring or Surveillance.


2. How to safely store recorded videos on a network computer

How to prevent users from deleting recorded videos

Security-critical institutions such as banks or insurance companies may want to record and store each employee's computer screen on a central computer over a network.


3. How to automatically delete old video files

Automatic deletion of old video files

If you record your computer nonstop for over 24 hours and 365 days, you may want to automatically delete old files to avoid exceeding your hard disk’s capacity. In this case, you can automatically delete old movie files by using the 'Task Scheduler' and 'ForFiles' commands on windows.


4. How to automatically backup videos to another HDD or Google Drive

How to automatically backup video files

You can automatically move recorded files to another HDD or Google Drive using the "Robocopy" command and Windows Task Scheduler.